【Upper | Screening】There are so many customers in the customs data, where to start the development?

Release time 2020-04-03 09:48:34 141 times viewed
Customs data is our medium for obtaining customer information and transaction data.



Now a lot of foreign friends to get the customs data, basically will appear the following the two phenomena: 

one is to use their products which search keywords, and compiled a list of customers to be developed, and then began to develop letter, introduced a lot of products and company profile to clients, but regardless of whether or not matching products, customers in the near future if there is demand, all to introduce their own advantage. The email content is full and rich, the product advantage is prominent, but received the customer reply letter is very few.

The other is busy sorting out customer data. A lot of time is spent sorting out the purchasing data of each potential company, including how many orders the company has placed in the past year, how many goods are purchased, and so on. The data tables made are really efficient and meticulous, but the development results are unsatisfactory.
Let's talk about it first, and search for customers using our own product keywords.

Further screening of customers
In the use of customs data, product keywords are used to search for customers, and the customer information that is searched out actually requires us to conduct further screening.

Because the trading countries have different customary names for similar products, there are differences in product names and descriptions in different countries. The words used in our search, if the accuracy of the search words is not enough, the search results will be biased. The searched customers do not match the products of their own company, or the customers' main business product deviations, all of which require us to analyze the customer's business scope and verify their products through the customer's official website and industry information after searching for customers.

The search mechanism of the query system, where the search results for product keywords using single words and combined phrases are different, for example: LED and LED light, LED lamp ... The number of customers using a single keyword search is very large, and our one day's work time and energy are limited, and old customers must be well maintained. After a few chats, there is very little time for development. So what keywords to use, you also need to start with the bill of lading product name and description of the goods, and try different and related product keyword combination phrases, and select the matching high-quality customers from these target customer groups as quickly as possible.

Reasonable classification of customers
"Yes, customs data needs to be sorted and screened, but it should also be modest."

Many foreign trade friends often spend a lot of manpower and time to screen and sort out, classify target customers into levels, and do development work before, after, and by priority. There are roughly several points of classification:

1. According to the procurement cycle time, for example, there are purchases in the past year, two consecutive years of purchases, three consecutive years of purchases, etc., statistically screen out qualified customers, list them in the table, and prioritize them.
2. Divided by the number of customers' import transactions, for example: this buyer purchased a few votes in total in 2019 and last year.
3. Divided by the number of products purchased, for example: how many similar products A customer purchased this year, the order of priority of the purchase amount.
……

Detailed condition screening, sorting and managing customer information and data information in customs data, and marking them accordingly.

In fact, the labels classified as above are problematic.

According to the first classification, the customers who have been developing for three consecutive years are prioritized. This type of customer is excellent in both purchasing strength and business stability. But considering many years of cooperative suppliers, the development of such customers is relatively difficult.

And customers who have been classified as low-level and have purchased in the past year do not represent quality. It may be a problem such as internal changes and reorganization of the company. The intermediate procurement business is interrupted, but the procurement volume has been quite high. big. It may also be the opening of new product channels, the establishment of a new business chain, or the addition of short-term suppliers, and they have just imported certain types of products. Think about it. At this time, the supplier's demand is strong and communication is easier. Isn't this the opportunity for us to get involved in development? However, we are classified into secondary development, and when it is their turn to communicate with them, it may be too late.

The competition for homogeneous products is so intense now that we don't have that time or energy. Therefore, to classify customers by the procurement cycle time, the best classification index is the most recent year, plus the comparison of business stability last year. Focus only on customers who have purchased in the past year as the focus and understand the follow-up customers in depth, instead of spending a lot of time collating the data of each company for several years.

【上 | 筛选篇】海关数据里的客户这么多,从哪着手开发?

发布时间 2020-04-03 09:48:34 浏览次数 134次
实际上,使用海关数据并没有太多的高级技巧,也没有像别人说的那么“天花乱坠”。说到底,海关数据是我们获取客户信息、交易数据的媒介。



现在很多外贸朋友拿到海关数据之后,基本上都会出现以下这两个现象:

一个是用自家产品的关键词逐一搜索,并整理出一份待开发的客户清单,然后就开始拟写开发信,把一大堆产品介绍、公司概况发给客户,可不管产品是否匹配,客户近期是否有需求,一股脑把自家的优势介绍个遍。邮件内容饱满丰富、产品优势突出,然而收到客户回复信却寥寥无几。

另一个则是忙着整理客户数据,大量的时间花在整理每一家潜在公司的采购数据,包括该公司近一年下了多少笔订单,采购的货物数量是多少等等。做出来的数据表格。嗯,使用起来确实很高效缜密,但是开发结果却差强人意。

我们先来说一下,用自家产品关键词搜索客户。

一、进一步筛选客户
在使用海关数据中,用产品关键词搜索客户,搜索出来的客户信息,其实是需要我们做进一步的筛选。为什么呢?原因有二!
一是由于各贸易国对同类的产品的习惯性称呼不同,所以不同国家的产品名称和描述是存在差异的。我们搜索使用的词,如果搜索词的精准度不够的话,搜索结果是会出现一定的偏差的。搜索出来的客户不匹配自家公司的产品,或者客户主要经营产品偏差,这些都需要我们在搜索出客户之后,通过客户的官网、行业信息,分析该客户的经营范围以及对其产品进行验证。

二是查询系统的搜索机制,其中产品关键词使用单个单词和组合词组的搜索结果是不一样的,例如:LED 和LED light、LED lamp…… 使用单个关键词搜索客户数量是非常庞大的,而我们的一天的工作时间和精力是有限,又要维护好老客户,一番寒暄洽谈下来,用于开发的时间少之又少。所以使用什么关键词,还需要从提单产品名称、货物描述入手,多尝试不同的、关联的产品关键词组合词组,以最快的速度,从这些目标客户群体中筛选出匹配的优质客户。

说到第二个现象。嗯,其实跟“贪多嚼不烂”是一个道理。

二、合理分类客户
“是,海关数据是需要整理和筛选,但是也要适度。“

很多外贸朋友常常花了很多人力和时间来筛选梳理,将目标客户进行等级的分类,分前后、优先级做开发工作。大致有几个分类的点,我们来对号入座看一下。
1、以采购的周期时间划分,例如:近一年有采购、连续两年采购、连续三年采购等等,统计筛选出符合条件的客户,列入表格并进行优先级的排序。
2、以客户的进口交易次数划分,例如:这家采购商2019年总共采购了几票,去年采购了几票。
3、以采购了多少产品数量划分,例如:A客户今年采购了多少同类产品,采购量大小优先级排序。
……
详尽的条件筛选,将海关数据中的客户信息、数据信息进行分类管理,并打上相应的标签。

其实像上面这样分类的标签是有问题的。

我们来看一下,第一个分类,明显排序下来,优先开发的是连续三年采购的客户。这类客户无论是采购实力还是业务的稳定性都是极好的。但是考虑到有多年的合作供应商,这类客户的开发难度是比较大的。

而我们看一下被分到低等级的,近一年有采购的客户,这类客户并不代表质量次,它有可能是公司内部变动、重组之类的问题,中间采购业务中断,但是一直采购量都挺大的。还有可能是开拓了新的产品渠道、搭建了新的业务链或者是短期新增供应商,刚做某类产品的进口。你想一下,这个时候供应商需求比较强烈,沟通也比较容易,这不正是我们介入开发的机会吗?然而却被我们分类到次级开发,等轮到沟通他们的时候,说不定木已成舟,为时已晚。

现在同质产品竞争这么强烈,我们没有那个时间,也没有那个精力。所以,以采购周期时间分类客户,最佳的分类指标是最近一年,最多再加上去年的进行业务稳定性的对比。只抓取最近一年内采购的客户作为重点,深入了解跟进客户,而不是花大量的时间来整理每一家公司几年数据。

至于,后面几个分类都涉及到调查分析目标公司的背景信息,这里就先不赘述了,我们放到下期再细谈。