How to find the macro trade data of each trading country?

Release time 2020-05-21 09:33:43 84 times viewed
To do market research and analysis, we need to analyze from a macro and micro perspective. From a macro perspective, the more important part is the trade data. In the trade data section, this article introduces you a very useful database that our foreign traders need to use, called the UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database), referred to as UN Comtrade Database. This is a more authoritative data platform launched by the United Nations.

Here is a brief introduction to the UN Comtrade Database. It was created by the United Nations Statistics Department and provides more than 200 countries and regions each year to provide the United Nations Statistics Office with the official annual commodity trade data of the local countries, which covers 99% of global commodity transactions, collecting more than 6,000 commodities, about 1.7 billion Data records. In other words, it is the world's most authoritative commodity data resource with the largest amount of commodity data. Its characteristic is that it truly reflects the trend of international commodity flows and conforms to standardization. The data reported by countries and regions are converted to a standardized format by the United Nations statistics office, all the values of goods are converted to dollars, and the quantities of goods are converted to metric units.

So how should we find this commodity trade statistics database?Enter UN Comtrade Database in Google, then you can find its official website.



The home page of this website is like this, showing various statistics. Let's take a look that there is a Dashboard (control panel) on the right. Then we first look at Data Availability (available data).

Data Availability 


You can see that the left side is equivalent to a quick lookup list, a quick view of the target country. 

Just to give you a brief introduction. Let's look at the categories in the list first. One column is Merchandise, and the other column is Services. Below A represents Annual and M represents Month. The leftmost column is the name of the country or region. This table mainly tells us the type of data each country has submitted and the date of update. (Most of our foreign trade have contacted are mainly commodity trade. Of course, let alone there are some technical services import and export.)



Argentina, for example, has updated its annual data to 2018 and its monthly data to June 2019, which means that once its data for the second half of the year, from July to December, has completed, it will be ready to submit data for the whole of 2019. At this point, Argentina's 2019 data will be available.

 

Another example is China, which has submitted its annual statistics to 2018 (it is now 2020). China has not yet submitted its statistics for 2019 to the UN statistics office. The statistics for 2019 are usually submitted at the end of 2020. Therefore, the annual statistics of China we see now only go to 2018, and the monthly report is only submitted to December 2017.

After briefly explaining the list on the left, let's look at the right. Check the Country/Area to check the Country data that you want to query. The page will screen the corresponding Country data, and the list on the left will also screen the corresponding Country information.



Next, I will talk about another query tool, UN Comtrade Analytics.

UN Comtrade Analytics
Also from the Dashboard into the data analysis page, we can see the statistics showing the exports/imports of different countries.


As you can see here, the data analysis tool quickly presents the corresponding country data in the form of various charts. From the macro data, we can see China's goods and exports to other countries in 2017.



From Destination of exports, we can see the top ten Destination countries for exports. According to the statistics of trading countries, the top ten trading partners of China's exports in 2016 can be analyzed.


Then from Main export flows, we can see China's export volume and what kind of products account for the large proportion of exports, the ranking of products mainly exported, etc., such as Elec MCH apparpartsnes, mainly exported to Eastern Asia... 



The trade data from the macro perspective can truly reflect the trend of international commodity flows, and provide data sources and reference values for us when we analyze the import and export data of each trading country and do market research.

怎么查找各个贸易国宏观的贸易数据?

发布时间 2020-05-21 09:33:43 浏览次数 87次
做市场的调查分析,需要我们从宏观和微观的角度来分析。从宏观角度来说,其中比较重要的部分就是贸易数据了。在贸易数据这一块,本文给大家介绍一个我们外贸人需要使用到的一个非常有用的数据库,叫做联合国商品贸易统计数据库(UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database),简称 UN Comtrade Database。这是一个由联合国推出来的比较权威的数据平台。

这里就先简单的给大家介绍一下UN Comtrade Database。它是由联合国统计署创建,每年超过200个国家和地区,向联合国统计署提供当地国家官方的年度商品贸易数据,其中涵盖了全球99%的商品交易,收集了超过6000种商品、约17亿个数据记录。也就是说它是全球最权威、商品数据量最多的商品贸易数据型资源。它的特点是真实地反映国际商品流动趋势,并且符合标准化。各国家和地区上报的数据由联合国统计署转换成统一标准格式,所有商品值转换成美元的形式,商品数量也被转换成公制单位。

那么,我们应该怎么查找这个商品贸易统计数据库呢?

在Google里面输入UN Comtrade Database,然后就可以找到它的官网。



这个网站的首页是这样的,显示各种各样的统计数据。我们来看一下,在右侧有一个Dashboard(控制面板) 。然后我们先来看一下Data Availability (可用的数据)。

一、Data Availability (可用的数据)


可以看到左边相当于一个快速查找列表,快速看到目标国家的一个情况。

给大家简单介绍一下,我们先来看一下列表的类目都有什么?一列是Merchandise(商品贸易);一列是Services (服务贸易),下面A代表Annual(年度)、M代表Month (月份)。最左一列是国家或地区的名称,这个表格主要告诉我们每个国家已经提交数据的类型以及更新日期。(我们外贸人接触最多的,基本上以商品贸易为主。当然还有一些技术服务进出口等,就暂且不说了。)



举个例子:Argentina (阿根廷)按年提交给联合国统计署的年度数据已经更新到2018年,而按月提交的月份数据更新到2019年6月份,也就是说等它下半年7~12月份的数据全部提交完之后,基本上就可以提交2019全年的数据了。这个时候,阿根廷2019年的数据就可以用了。

 

再比如说:China,按年统计的数已提交到2018年(现在是2020年),中国还没有把2019年的统计数据提交给联合国统计署,2019年的统计数据一般要到2020年年终的时候再提交。所以说我们现在看到的China的年度统计数据只到2018年,月度报告只提交到2017年12月。

简单讲解完左边的列表,我们来看右边,在Country/Area中勾选出想要查询的国家数据,页面会筛选出对应的国家数据,左侧的列表也会筛选出对应的国家信息。



接下来要说到另外一个查询工具,就是UN Comtrade Analytics。

二、UN Comtrade Analytics(数据分析)

同样从Dashboard(控制面板)进入数据分析页面,我们可以看到呈现不同国家出口/进口的统计情况。



比如说,我们在country/area这里选择输入并勾选China,年份选择完整的2017年数据。
 


从这里可以看到,数据分析工具,以各类图表的方式,快速呈现出对应的国家数据。从宏观数据我们可以看到2017年中国出口到世界各国的商品和出口额情况。 



从Destination of exports (出口目的地),我们可以看到出口的前十大目的地国家。根据贸易国统计的数据,可以分析出中国2016年出口的前十个贸易合作伙伴。



然后从Main export flows (主要出口流量),我们可以看到中国出口量以及出口占比较大是哪种产品类,主要出口的产品类排名等等,比如:Elec mch apparpartsnes 机电类的产品,主要出口到Eastern Asia地区 …… 

宏观角度分析的贸易数据,真实地反映国际商品流动趋势,为我们分析各贸易国进出口数据以及做市场调研的时候,提供数据源和参考值。