Between "sunset" industry & "emerging" industry, how do you choose?

Release time 2020-05-22 09:23:16 79 times viewed
When making foreign trade selections, foreign traders basically reached a consensus, choosing "emerging industries" with markets, and abandoning "sunset industries" that nobody cares about. "Emerging industries" in the market can often bring us huge development space including sustained high-speed growth trend and a high product premium accompanied; while some "sunset industries" are in a slow decline. It can be seen that the sales volume and sales of products have been declining year by year.

So how do you judge by some trade data, what kind of state is the product you manage? Is it declining year by year, or is it continuing to grow?

We can research and obtain this part of trade data through Get Data on the UN Comtrade Database official website. Below we compare the export volume (net weight) and export volume (total amount) of the two types of products in recent years.

The first is about toy products. There are many kinds of toy products on the market, and their HS codes are also different. We choose wheeled toys similar to bicycles and scooters, and search using its HS code 950300. After entering the code, the system will give a detailed description of the code.



In the case where other options remain unchanged, such as whether you are exporting wheeled toys or similar toys, at this time, we need to look at the export trends of the entire large category of products in the past five years.



It can be seen that in the past five years, the export volume and export value have continued to rise from 2014 to 2018.

In the same way, look at the export trend of rubber products in the past five years. Taking rubber 400219 as an example, the data is as follows:



It can be seen that in the past five years, from 2014 to 2017, the export volume and export value have continued to decline, and there has been a slight upward trend from 2017 to 2018. The magnitude is not large.

We all know that the net weight is generally reflected in customs declarations and bills of lading. If this value continues to decline, what does it mean? Two problems are explained. First, assuming that the willingness of foreign countries to purchase in China has not changed, it can only mean that their purchasing volume is declining and the market demand for such products is declining. Second, it may be that foreign importers abandon their procurement completely from China, or that the structure of their procurement channels has changed. As a result, the volume of purchases imported from China has decreased significantly, and import orders have shifted to some Asian countries with lower labor costs. From this statistical value, we can feel that the procurement channels, structure, and country choices are facing some changes. Therefore, the statistical data here can help us do some analysis, and then judge which product is more suitable for this type of product, and which one has more development potential.

Of course, it cannot be generalized. Compared with the toy products mentioned above, we also see products such as paper cups (HS code: 482369), which are not particularly high in total trade volume.



The total trade volume in 2018 is USD 25.4 billion and USD 1 billion for wheeled toys. Comparing paper cups with toys, although the gap between their export values ​​is very large, think about the difference in price or value between these two types of products. So how to make an analogy? Maybe we think that a product with a relatively small value, such as a paper cup, can achieve an annual export transaction value of 1.1 billion US dollars with continued growth.

If you find that the export value and export volume of a certain type of product are increasing year by year, it means that the demand for this type of product and the amount of purchase from China are rising. It can be seen that the development trend of this type of product may be relatively bright in the future. For me, I might also choose the paper cup product.

Finally, let me explain. When doing market research and analysis, the content of the get data section is very useful to our foreign traders. However, the above analysis and classification methods are not necessarily very scientific and correct. Mostly, they provide an analysis idea for your reference.

“夕阳”行业&“新兴”行业,你怎么选?

发布时间 2020-05-22 09:23:16 浏览次数 79次
做外贸选品的时候,我们外贸人基本上达成了一个共识,选择有市场的“新兴行业”,抛弃无人问津的“夕阳行业”。市场上的“新兴行业”,往往可以给我们带来巨大的发展空间,持续高速的成长趋势,并伴随着很高的产品溢价;而相对的一些“夕阳行业”,处于缓慢下滑状态,“肉眼可见”的产品销量、销售额在逐年的下降。

那么怎么通过一些贸易数据来判断,自己经营的产品处于怎么样的一个状态呢?是否在逐年下滑,亦或者持续增长?

我们可以通过UN Comtrade Database官网的Get data,来调研并获取这部分的贸易数据。下面我们以两类产品的近几年的出口量(净重)和出口额(总额)来对比一下。(怎么操作的话,点击查看上期:怎么去选择有市场的外贸产品?

首先是关于玩具产品,现在市场上有非常多种类的玩具产品,它们的HS编码也不尽相同。我们选择类似自行车、滑板车的轮式玩具,用它的HS编码950300搜索一下。输入编码后,系统会对这个编码进行一个详细的说明。



其他选项不变的情况下,比如你是做轮式玩具或者是类似的玩具出口,这个时候,我们需要看一下整个大类产品最近五年的出口趋势情况。



可以看到最近这五年,出口量、出口额从2014年到2018年都在持续的上升。

同样的方法,来看一下橡胶类产品最近五年的出口趋势,以橡胶400219为例,数据如下:  



可以看到最近这五年,从2014年到2017年,出口量、出口额在持续地下降,2017年到2018年有些许的回升趋势,幅度不大。

我们都知道,净重一般是反映在报关单、提单上的,这一数值在持续下降的话,说明什么呢?说明两个问题,第一,假设国外在中国采购的意愿没有改变的话,那只能说明他们的采购量在下降,这类产品的市场需求在下降。第二,可能是国外进口商放弃完全从中国采购,或者采购渠道结构已经有了变化,因此从中国进口的采购量大幅降低,进口订单转向一些劳动成本更低廉的亚洲国家。从这个统计的数值上,我们是可以感觉到采购的渠道、结构,以及国家选择上正面临一些变化。所以说,这里的统计数据可以帮我们做一些分析,然后自己去判断这类产品跟另外一类产品哪个更合适,也可以说是哪个更有发展潜力。

当然,也不能一概而论。相比上面说到的玩具产品,我们也会看到像纸杯(HS编码:482369)等,这一类贸易总量不是特别高的产品。


 
对比轮式玩具,我们来看一下它们2018年的贸易总量分别是轮式玩具254亿美金和10亿美金。纸杯和玩具相比,虽然他们的出口额的差距是非常大的,但是想想这两类产品无论是价格上的差距,还是价值上的差距,都比这个大多了。那么怎么去类比呢?可能我们觉得像纸杯这样一个价值比较小的产品,它的市场能做到年出口交易额11亿美金,说明这类产品的空间是非常大,并且从数据中可以看到它的贸易趋势是稳定持续增长。

如果你发现某一类产品的出口额和出口量在逐年增长的话,那么说明这一类产品的需求量、从中国的采购量等方面都是在上升的,由此可见,这类产品在未来的发展趋势可能是比较光明的。对于我来说,可能也会去选择纸杯这个产品来做。

最后再说明一下,做市场调研分析,get data这版块的内容对我们外贸人是非常有用的。但是,以上的这个分析、类别的方法,也不一定就是非常科学、正确的,更多的是提供了一个分析思路给大家参考。