Several common delivery methods in foreign trade transactions (Part One)

Release time 2020-05-19 15:57:52 42 times viewed
In foreign trade export transactions, different delivery methods are involved. In the 2000 General Terms of Interpretation of International Trade Terms, the 13 trade terms in international trade are uniformly explained, including the place of delivery, division of responsibility, risk transfer, and applicable transportation methods. Let's take a look at several common delivery methods in foreign trade transactions together!



Factory delivery (EXW)
The full English name is "EX Works (... named place)", which means "factory delivery (... designated place)"
Division of responsibilities:
1. The seller is responsible for delivering the prepared goods to the buyer in the workshop, factory, warehouse, etc., but is generally not responsible for loading the goods on the vehicle prepared by the buyer or handling the customs clearance of the goods.
2. The buyer bears all costs and risks of shipping the goods to the intended destination from the seller's location.

Note:
This term is the term for sale and purchase with the least responsibility of the seller, and if both parties wish to be responsible for loading the goods at the time of shipment and bear the full cost and risk of loading the goods, they must be clearly stated in the contract of sale. If the buyer is unable to handle the exit procedures for goods, it is not appropriate to use this method.

Cargo Carrier (FCA)
The full English name is "Free Carrier. (… named place)" , i.e. "the goods are delivered to the carrier (... designated location)”.

Division of responsibility: 
The seller shall be responsible for the goods handed over by the seller, and after the clearance is carried out, and delivered to the buyer at the designated place of carriage and care. In accordance with commercial practice, when the seller is required to collaborate with the carrier by contract, the seller may do so at the buyer's risk and expense.

Note: 
This term applies to any mode of transport. It should be noted that the choice of the place of delivery has an impact on the obligation to load and unload at that location. If the seller delivers the goods at its place, the seller shall be responsible for loading the goods and, if the seller delivers the goods at any other place, the seller is not responsible for unloading the goods.

Free alongside ship (FAS)
The full English name is "Free Alongside ship (... named port of shipment", i.e. “side delivery (... Specified port of shipment).

Division of responsibility: 
The seller delivers the goods to the side of the ship at the designated port of shipment or barge, from then the buyer shall bear the full cost and risk of loss or damage to the goods, and the buyer shall go through the export clearance procedures.

Note: 
This term applies to sea or inland transport. If the vessel assigned by the buyer is unable to dock, the seller is responsible for bringing the goods to the side of the ship by barge and still delivering it by the ship's edge. The responsibility and cost of loading the ship shall be borne by the buyer.

Free on board (FOB)
The full English name is "Free on Board (...named port of shipment", i.e. "delivery on board the ship (... Specified port of shipment)”.

Division of responsibility: 
1. The port of shipment on board the ship, the seller in the designated port of shipment to deliver the goods through the ship's rail, the seller will complete the delivery. For delivery on board the port of destination, the seller must bear all risks and costs before the goods are shipped to the port of destination for discharge.
2. After the goods cross the ship's rail, the buyer is responsible for sending the ship to pick up the goods, and shall bear the full cost, risk, loss or damage of the goods. The seller is also required to go through the customs clearance procedures for the export of the goods.

Note: 
This term applies to sea or inland transport. The seller shall load the goods onto the vessel designated by the buyer at the port of shipment and within the specified period of time stipulated in the contract and notify the buyer in a timely manner. When the goods are loaded onto a designated vessel at the port of shipment, the risk is transferred from the seller to the buyer.

Cost and freight (CFR or C-F)
The full English name is "cost and freight(named port of shipment)”, i.e. "cost plus freight(……designated port of destination)”.

Division of responsibility: 
1. The seller must pay the expenses and freight required to ship the goods to the designated port of destination, but the risk of the goods is to be transferred on board the ship at the port of shipment.
2. After the goods cross the ship's rails at the designated port and hand them over to the ship's deck, the risk of the goods is transferred from the seller to the buyer. The seller is also required to go through the customs clearance procedures for the export of the goods.

Note: 
This term applies to sea or inland transport. When the goods are loaded on board at the port of shipment, it is important to pay attention to the issue of the notice of loading, and the seller must notify the buyer without delay that the goods have been loaded onboard. Otherwise, the seller is liable for breach of contract.

Cost, insurance and freight (CIF)
The full English name is "Cost, Insurance and Freight(…named port of shipment)”, i.e. "Cost, insurance and freight ( ......designated port of destination).

Division of responsibility: 
1. In addition to having the same obligation as the term "cost plus freight", the seller shall also be subject to maritime insurance and insurance premiums for the loss or damage of the goods by the buyer in transit. 
2. The seller shall bear all risks of loss or damage after the goods have been loaded at the port of shipment after delivery of the goods to the ship at the designated port of shipment within the agreed date or period.

Note:
This term applies to sea or inland transport. Although the seller arranges the carriage of goods and for the processing of cargo insurance, the seller is not obliged to guarantee the delivery of the goods to the agreed port of destination, since the CIF is a term for delivery of the goods, not a term for delivery at the port of destination, i.e. the CIF is not a "CIF".

外贸交易中常见的几种交货方式(上)

发布时间 2020-05-19 15:57:52 浏览次数 43次
外贸出口交易中,会涉及到不同的交货方式。在《2000年国际贸易术语解释通则》中,统一解释了国际贸易中的13种贸易术语,包括交货地点、责任划分、风险转移,适用运输方式等。下面我们一起来看看外贸交易中常见的几种交货方式!



一、工厂交货(EXW)
英文全称”EX Works(… named place)”,即”工厂交货(……指定地点)”。
责任划分:
1、卖方负有在其所在地即车间、工厂、仓库等把备妥的货物交付给买方的责任,但通常不负责将货物装上买方准备的车辆上或办理货物结关。
2、买方承担自卖方的所在地将货物运至预期的目的地的全部费用和风险。 
注意事项:
这个术语是卖方承当职责最少的买卖术语,若双方希望在起运时由卖方负责装载货物并承担装载货物的全部费用和风险时,则须在销售合同中明确写明。如买方无法处理货品出境手续时,则不宜选用这一方法。

二、货交承运人(FCA)
英文全称为”Free Carrier(… named place)”,即”货物交承运人(……指定地点)”。
责任划分:
卖方应负责将其移交的货物,办理出关后,在指定的地点交付给买方指定的承运入照管。 根据商业惯例,当卖方被要求与承运人通过签订合同进行协作时,在买方承担风险和费用的情况下,卖方可以照此办理。
注意事项:
本术语适用于任何运输方式。需要说明的是,交货地点的选择对于在该地点装货和卸货的义务会产生影响。若卖方在其所在地交货,则卖方应负责装货,若卖方在任何其他所在地交货,卖方不负责卸货。

三、船边交货(FAS)
英文全称为”Free Alongside ship(… named port of shipment)”即”船边交货(……指定装运港)”。
责任划分:
卖方在指定的装运港码头或驳船上把货物交至船边,从这时起买方须承担货物灭失或损坏的全部费用和风险,另外买方须办理出口结关手续。
注意事项:
本术语适用于海运或内河运输。如果买方所派的船只不能靠岸,卖方则要负责用驳船把货物运至船边,仍在船边交货。装船的责任和费用由买方承担。

四、船上交货(FOB)
英文全称为” Free on Board(… named port of shipment)”, 即”船上交货(……指定装运港)”。
责任划分:
1、装运港船上交货,卖方在指定的装运港把货物送过船舷后交付,卖方即完成交货。目的港船上交货,卖方必须承担货物运至指定目的港卸货前的一切风险和费用。
2、货物越过船舷后,买方负责派船接运货物,须承担货物的全部费用、风险、灭失或损坏。另外要求卖方办理货物的出口结关手续。
注意事项:
本术语适用于海运或内河运输。卖方应在合同规定的装运港和规定的期限内将货物装上买方指定的船只,并及时通知买方。货物在装运港被装上指定船时,风险即由卖方转移至买方。

五、成本加运费(CFR或C&F)
英文全称为” Cost and Freight (named port of shipment)”,即”成本加运费(……指定目的港)”。
责任划分:
1、卖方必须支付将货物运至指定目的港所需的开支和运费,但货物的风险是在装运港船上交货时转移。
2、货物越过指定港的船舷交至船上甲板后,货物的风险就由卖方转向买方负担。另外要求卖方办理货物的出口结关手续。
注意事项:
本术语适用于海运或内河运输。货物在装运港装上船的时候,一定要注意装船通知的问题,卖方必须毫不迟延地通知买方货物已装上船。否则,卖方要承担违约责任。

六、成本、保险费加运费(CIF)
英文全称为”Cost,Insurance and Freight(…named port of shipment)”,即”成本、保险费加运费(……指定目的港)”。
责任划分:
1、卖方除负有与”成本加运费”术语相同的义务外,还须办理货物在运输途中应由买方承担购货物灭失或损坏的海运保险并支付保险费。
2、卖方在约定的日期或期限内,在将货物交至指定装运港的船上之后,买方承担货物在装运港装船之后,包括灭失或损坏的一切风险。
注意事项:
本术语适用于海运或内河运输。虽然由卖方安排货物运输和办理货运保险,但卖方并不承担保证把货送到约定目的港的义务,因为CIF是属于装运交货的术语,而不是目的港交货的术语,也就是说CIF不是“到岸价”。