What should we do if the key person in charge cannot be contacted by the foreign trade telephone?

Release time 2020-08-21 10:04:40 564 times viewed
When we make ocean calls to foreign trade customers, we may often encounter situations where the person responsible for procurement is not in the company. In other words, our phone call has passed on, but we could not find the key person.



Because this is the first time for us to call a potential customer, and we did not make an appointment with the other party in advance. If the other party is not aware of the call, the other party's operator may ask you to call back at another time and hang up the phone. What should we say at this time? Is this the end of the call?

In a normal foreign trade call, when we start to communicate with each other, we usually prepare some simple greetings in advance as an opening remark, such as Hi, good afternoon, if I can speak to xxx, please? Then introduce yourself to each other, introduce the company, products, and services. It is easier to be accepted by the other party than long-formed rhetoric at first, and allows him to listen to us in a step-by-step manner.

The longer we keep talking with each other, the more likely you are to get the information and resources you want, such as the name of the company's purchase and contact email. Therefore, when the other party is not purchasing in the company, we can proactively say that we will make a return call and ask the other party about the appropriate time for the return visit during the communication process. For example, do you know when he will be back? If the operator replies to you that the company buyer went to another city to attend a meeting, or visited a partner supplier, and the return time is uncertain.

At this time, you have to briefly introduce yourself who you are, which company you are from, the reason for calling, etc., so that the operator has a certain impression of you, and can take the opportunity to ask the other person, such as, is there anyone else in purchasing department you think I can speak to? See if there are other people responsible for purchasing matters in the company, and see if you can contact other key positions. In fact, the operator of the other party may not know whether you are a supplier or a supplier seeking cooperation. If they understand that you want to talk to a person in the purchasing department, they may transfer you to the landline phone of the purchasing department.

In addition, there will be a situation that the buyer of the other party is on a business trip and will not return to the company for a short time. The other party sets the phone as a voice mail box, and the reply to the past call is for you to leave a voice message. In other words, if you can't call the other party back in the short term, and the operator of the other party does not give you the purchase email or other contact information, you can first learn about some company information from the other party at this time, such as company imports situation, which countries are mainly imported from, etc., to get more useful information. Then consider whether to leave a message to the mailbox of the purchase.

When we communicate with overseas customers, the priority is to send development emails to the other party. If the email is not answered, we will choose to call. It can be seen that these two methods are for being able to "get on line" and "talk to each other". In the case of voice messages, in fact, friends who are doing foreign trade development know that after leaving a message, the response rate of the other party is relatively low, and it is often in a state of "no audio" and no response. This development effect is relatively general.

If the customer is relatively high-quality and worthy of development, you can choose to leave a voice and audio for the other party. Here are a few things to note:
One is to keep the content of the message simple and concise, and avoid long discussions. Because the other party must have received a lot of messages during the period of business trip, when you come back to concentrate on processing the messages, it is difficult for you to draw the attention of the other party and let the other party listen.
Second, in addition to starting from the perspective of matching our own products and products made by customers, we must also consider customers and provide them with valuable things that customers need. From the information we know in advance, such as the pain points of current cooperation with existing product suppliers, unmet needs, wanting to open up a new market, etc., we can grasp the other party’s concerns and highlight the main content in the message and go straight to the topic discarding unnecessary greetings.

外贸电话联系不到关键负责人怎么办?

发布时间 2020-08-21 10:04:40 浏览次数 439次
我们在给外贸客户打远洋电话的时候,可能经常会碰到对方负责采购的人员没在公司的情况。也就是说我们这通电话过去,没能找到关键人。



因为我们是第一次给潜在客户致电,并没有事先与对方约定时间,在对方不知情的情况下,临时打的这通电话,如果要找的采购人不在,对方的接线员可能就会让你另找时间再打过来,也就挂断电话了。这个时候我们应该怎么表达呢?就这样结束通话了吗?

正常的一通外贸电话,我们开始和对方沟通的时候,一般会事先准备好一些简单的寒暄作为开场白,比如:Hi,good afternoon, if I can speak to xxx, please ? 然后再向对方做自我介绍,介绍公司、产品、服务,。这样比一上来就长篇大论的说辞,更容易被对方接受,并且能让他循序渐进地听我们讲下去。

我们跟对方保持通话的时间越长,你就越有可能获取到自己想要的信息和资源,例如:公司采购的名字、联系邮箱。所以遇到对方采购不在公司的情况,我们可以在沟通的过程中,主动表示会打回访电话,询问对方合适的回访时间。比如:Do you know when he will be back? 如果接线员回复你,公司采购员去其他城市参加会议,或者是拜访合作供应商了,回来的时间不确定。

这时候,你就要简单介绍一下你自己,自己是谁,是哪家公司的,致电的来意等等,让接线员对你有一定的印象,并可以借机询问对方,如:Is there anyone else in purchasing department you think I can speak to ? 看是否还有其他负责采购事宜的人在公司,能不能和其他的关键职位人联系上。实际上,对方接线员可能并不清楚你是已经合作的供应商,还是寻求合作的供应商,了解到你是想是采购部门人员交谈的话,可能会帮你转到采购部的座机电话上。

另外,还会出现一种情况就是,对方采购员出差了,短期不会回公司,对方将电话设置成语音信箱,打过去的电话回复是让你语音留言。也就是说你短期内是没办法再给对方回访电话,并且对方的接线员也没有给你采购的邮箱或者其他联系方式的情况下,这个时候可以先向对方了解一些公司的信息,像公司的进口情况、主要从哪些国家进口等等,获取更多有用的信息。然后再考虑是否给采购的信箱留言。

我们和海外客户沟通,优先是给对方发送开发邮件,邮件未回复的情况下,再选择打电话联系。可以看到这两种方式都是为了能和对方“搭上线”、“通上话”。语音留言的话,其实做外贸开发的朋友都知道,留言过后,对方的回复率是比较低的,经常是“了无音讯”,不回音的状态。这样的开发效果就比较一般了。

如果这个客户是比较优质,值得开发的话,可以选择给对方留一段语音音频。这里有几点需要注意:
一是留言的内容要保持简单扼要,避免长篇大论。因为对方出差的这段时间,收到的留言肯定很多,回来集中处理留言的时候,你这开发信式的介绍很难引起对方的注意,让对方听下去。
二是,除了从自家产品和客户做的产品匹配的角度出发以外,更多的是要站在客户考虑,去提供客户需求的、有价值的东西。我们可以从事先了解到的信息,如目前和现有产品供应商合作的痛点、未被满足的需求、想要开拓某个新市场等等,抓住对方的关注点,在留言中突出主要内容,直达主题,舍弃掉不必要的寒暄问候。