How should we inform the customer about the delayed delivery of the factory

2022-12-02|72 views|Development skills

We don't want to have delivery delays and wants to complete the customer's order with quality and quantity. But in reality, there will always be accidents, many of which are difficult to predict. For example, epidemic, power rationing, order backlog, etc.


 
At this time, it is a test of our thinking and communication skills, because if we do not handle it well, it may cause the customer's resentment, and even cancel the order directly. I will share a case to show how to solve this kind of incident.
 
Case:
Bacho, a SOHO, recently received an order for furniture from an American customer. She gave the order to a manufacturer she had been cooperating with before. Because the previous cooperation was smooth, she did not arrange a third party to inspect the goods this time.
 
The manufacturer has repeatedly guaranteed that the goods will be delivered on time. However, before shipment, the manufacturer delayed shipment for various reasons, such as power limitation, raw materials price rising, machine failure,etc...
 
She went to the factory herself because they couldn't deliver the goods. It was learned from the employees that the backlog of orders led to the postponement of many orders to varying degrees, and her order would be finished two months later at the earliest. However, there was only one month left before the delivery date agreed with the customer.
 
For such events, we can clearly confirm that the delivery will be delayed, even if it is too late to replace the manufacturer. How to communicate with customers?
 
My suggestion is that we can take two steps:
Step 1: We should fully understand the real situation of the factory production. For example, why it is delayed, how long it needs to be delayed, and the specific delivery time. After confirming these questions, we will set aside a little safety time before giving the customer a reply.
 
Step 2: You should master certain skills when communicating with customers. It is no good to just report the good news without reporting the bad news, and customers will not believe it. And blindly cajoling is not desirable. At this time, we should think more and communicate with customers from different angles. For example, most customers care about price, delivery date, etc. In addition, customers also care about "product quality".


 
Of course, if the price and time are not very good at this time, we can only talk about the product quality. However, it should be noted that we should not do anything to reduce our professional level in order to delay, such as telling customers that the quality of this batch of products is not good, and we repeat such words. Such explanation would only be to pick up a brick and hit his own foot.
 
So we can write in an email like this:
Dear XXX,

Sorry to inform you that we have to postpone the shipment 2~3 weeks later.

According to our internal inspection, we found the surface treating was not perfect. So I asked my team to arrange the re-work immediately, to make everything better.
 
I take it for granted that quality is the top priority for both of us for running orders. And I really want you to be proud of our items with outstanding performance. So please help to give us more time.

Thanks & best regards,
XXX
 
Although this email can not completely eliminate the customer's grievances, it can comfort the customer very well. Some customers may even appreciate you and feel that you have a sense of responsibility. If there is no accident, the goods should be shipped on time.
 
Therefore, when we encounter problems, we should be flexible. In the final analysis, doing foreign trade is dealing with people, so we should use our brains to find a way out.


Whatsapp:+8616621075894(9:00 Am-18:00 Pm (SGT))

About us Contact us Advertise Buyer Supplier Company report Industry report

©2010-2023 52wmb.com all rights reserved

工厂延期交货,我们该这样与客户谈

2022-12-02|74次阅读|开发技巧

交货延期是所有外贸员都不愿意碰到的事。那个外贸员不想保质保量的完成客户的订单呢?但现实中总会有太多的意外发生,很多意外我们又难以预见。例如:疫情封控、限电、订单积压等等。


 
这时就很考验我们的思维和沟通能力,因为一个处理不好,可能就会引起客户的反感,更甚者会直接取消订单。小编根据一个案例来带大家分析,如何解决这类事件?
 
案例:
bacho是一名SOHO,最近收到了美国客户订购的一笔家具订单。她就把这笔单子给了之前一直合作的一个厂家,由于之前一直合作的都比较顺利,这次就没安排第三方进行验货。
 
本来厂家一再保证货品会按期交货,但临出货前,厂家却因为各种理由拖延出货,从限电到原材料上涨再到机器故障....,原因之多领人瞠目结舌。
 
由于迟迟出不了货,他就亲自去了一趟工厂。从员工嘴里才了解到实情,原来是由于订单积压导致很多订单都出现了不同程度的延期,他的这个订单最快也要2个月后。但距离和客户约定的交货期却只剩下了一个月时间。
 
对于这类事件,我们可以很明确的确定交货要延期了,即便现在更换厂家也是来不及的。这时如何和客户谈判呢?
 
小编的建议是可以分两步走:
第一步:己方要完全了解工厂生产的真实情况。如:为何会延期、需要延期多久、具体的出货时间等。确定了这些问题后,我们预留出一点安全时间,然后再给客户答复。
 
第二步:在和客户沟通时要掌握一定的技巧,一味的报喜不报忧是不行的,客户也不会信。而一味的哄骗更是不可取的。这个时候就要多思考,换角度和客户进行沟通,例如大部分客户会比较在乎价格、交货期等,除此之外客户还有一个比较在乎点是“产品质量”。


 
当然这时价格和时间都不太好做文章,那么只能拿产品质量说事了。但要注意的是不能为了延期做出降低自己专业水平的事,例如和客户说这批产品质量不行,我们重做了这类的话。这样的解释只会是拿起砖砸自己的脚。
 
因此我们可以邮件这样写:
Dear XXX,

Sorry to inform you that we have to postpone the shipment 2~3 weeks later.

According to our internal inspection, we found the surface treating was not perfect. So I asked my team to arrange the re-work immediately, to make everything better.

I take it for granted that quality is the top priority for both of us for running orders. And I really want you to be proud of our items with outstanding performance. So please help to give us more time.

Thanks & best regards,
XXX
 
虽然这封邮件无法做到完全消除客户的怨气,但可以很好的安抚客户。有些客户甚至可能还会因此欣赏你,觉得你有担当和责任感。如果没有什么意外,还是要按时出货。
 
所以,当我们遇到问题时,要懂得变通。做外贸,归根到底是跟人打交道,那就要动脑筋,想办法,找出路。


咨询热线:021-64033826(周一至周五 9:15-18:00)

关于我们 联系我们 网站协议 隐私政策 招聘信息 广告招募 采购商 供应商 公司报告 行业报告

©2010-2023 外贸邦版权所有|虹梅路2007号远中产业园3期1号楼705室